Love Never Fades

I read a post by peacockpoetryblog.wordpress.com – “Part of The Process”  June 6, 2017. She spoke of how much she missed her Father since he passed away.  She wrote a beautiful poem about the loss of her Father.  In a comment, I mentioned I had written a poem about my brother who passed away.  She asked if she might read my poem, so I am posting it today.

I wrote this poem in late 2015.  My brother was ill for several years and he told me not to grieve when he was gone; he wanted me to think of him – Now and Then.  I worded this poem as if he were writing the poem himself.  I have 3 siblings, but my brother was the only sibling that shared both childhood and adulthood with me.  He was 1 1/2 years younger than me and we truly had a wonderful, loving relationship.  I miss him, I grieve for him, I loved him so dearly.  He passed away just before Thanksgiving in 2015; loss always seems harder to bear when it happens during the holiday season.

IMG_3055 (2)

THINK OF ME – NOW AND THEN

Now I’ve traveled down that long and final road of life; my earthly light shines no more.

I want no sorrow to fill you with gloom and despair; for my soul is now gone home.

Think for me for a short and quiet span of time; and smile as you remember.

Picture the life of love and joy we once shared; Think of Me – Now and Then.

We all must venture through this last journey alone; on the path to glorious eternity.

God has prepared a new and splendid place for me; where pain and regrets cannot go.

Do not fill your heart with distress and grief; find comfort in those still near.

Turn sorrow into charity to help others endure life; But Remember – Think of Me – Now and Then.

written for you – Jack, by your sister – Peggy

 

 

31 thoughts on “Love Never Fades

  1. This moved me to tears. Thanks so much for sharing a glimpse of the close relationship you had with your late brother. I feel privileged to have read your poem Peggy. Love never fades and nor should it. Hugs, Sam x

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I am so sorry for your loss. As an adult, I have realized that it’s ok to mourn the ones we love, it’s okay to cry when we feel those tears, it’s okay to​ carry their memory with us, it’s okay to be thankful for the times spent with them and it’s okay to live our days looking forward to the day we’ll meet the ones that have died in body. God is sovereign and Gracious to​ carry us one day at a time. Hugs💝🌹

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Oh Peggy, this so brought a lump to my throat and tears easily sprang to my eyes my friend.. Such a wonderful poignant poem and yet at the same time uplifting in its loving message..
    You truly have a wonderful gift..
    And loved the image to chose to share with it Peggy. xxx ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It is always hard to lose someone who is such a big part of your life. My brother was a preacher, a loving and kind person with enough humor for 2 people. It was hard to post that post – brought tears to my eyes. Thanks for your comments friend – hugs and love to you. xoxo

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

