Daisies

We were out driving through the country the other day and there were daisies everywhere.

Daisies represent innocence and purity.  A daisy is actually classified as 2 flowers.  The white petals are one flower and the yellow disc of petals forming the center are another flower.  The leaves of the daisy are edible and are good in salads.  The daisy is closely related to the artichoke and is rich in vitamin C. Bees absolutely love  the yellow center of the daisy.

IMG_2517

IMG_2520

19 thoughts on “Daisies

  1. My absolute favourite flower, the humble daisy reminds me so much of my childhood. From running in the fields and making daisy chains, to pretending they were fried eggs when my sister and I played “house”… But I did not know about them being 2 flowers. Thanks for the info.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. We use to make necklace chains from clover blooms. These daisies are growing everywhere in the wild here in Arkansas. The daisy is a wonderful flower and I enjoy them very much. I like the fried egg thought. Ha 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I love these tall Daisies Peggy.. Lots of them would grow in the meadows when I grew up near our home.. We would pick them.. We called them Moon Penny Daisies.. And your pictures of them brought back lots of happy childhood memories.. Thank you..
    Love and Hugs and the photo’s you shared are beautiful

    Sue 🌼🌼🌼

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

