Vainglory and Strife

IMG_9087

I was sitting, looking at the lovely reflection in my living room mirror.  For an instant I saw beauty, peace, comfort and yet . . .  In just a short time my thoughts changed to something that has bothered me for a long time.  The chaos, deceit, and hate I see happening here in America in Washington D. C.

I Timothy 2:1-3 “I exhort therefore that first of all, supplications, prayers, and intercessions, and giving of thanks be made for all men.  For kings, and for all that are in authority; that we may lead a quiet and peaceable life in all godliness and honesty.  For this is good an acceptable in the sight of God our savior.”

It truly is hard to pray for those in authority in this country.  They are like unruly, squabbling children.  In my heart I do not see them turning into responsible adults.

Ecclesiastes 10:16 “Woe to thee, O land, when thy king is a child, and thy princes eat in the morning!”

Ecclesiastes 10:12 “The words of a wise man’s mouth are gracious; but the lips of a fool will swallow up himself.”

I find myself depressed and full of hopelessness; due to the childish behavior of the democrats and the republicans. I see them all acting like 5 year old children.Each of them is trying to get a piece of the pie, but there is not enough pie to go around. My wise Mother, who is with the Lord now, would have laughed at that statement and agreed with me. I truly believe our new president needs to learn to control the words that come out of his mouth.  He needs to cease the childish statements on Twitter.  A wise man thinks and is silent, but a fool spews foolishness from his mouth.

Philippians 2:3 “Let nothing be done through strife or vainglory; but in lowliness of mind let each esteem other better than themselves.”

I will leave you with another bit of the wisdom of King Solomon.

Ecclesiastes 1:9 “The thing that hath been, it is that which shall be; and that which is done is that which shall be done: and there is no new thing under the sun.”

May God bless America and instill upon the foolish men of this country – Wisdom.

16 thoughts on “Vainglory and Strife

    1. Thanks for your comments. It is hard to pray for our politicians. I simply ask God to give them wisdom – and like you I do not want to pray for them Trump is becoming less appealing every day – he does not know what the word diplomacy means.

      Liked by 2 people

      1. Light Ministry Blog

        I didn’t vote for Trump or Clinton because neither one is a Godly person. And I agree with you…Trump is less appealing to me every day too…

        Liked by 2 people

      2. Light Ministry Blog

        I agree with you except that Clinton wouldn’t have tried to build a wall or write a travel ban or any such things as that. Still, she would be allowing everybody to do anything they want to…which is just as bad, since that is the source of many of our current national problems! Nope, neither one makes for a good president…

        Liked by 2 people

  1. Lots of wisdom within those verses and within your own thoughts Peggy.. Keep looking in the mirror dear friend. We can only reflect Peace outwards, and hope the world soon wakes up to seeing itself.. For the world is a giant mirror.. Reflecting back to us what we pour out..

    Love and Blessings. and sending continued peaceful thoughts xxx

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

