A Soldier’s Prayer

I was reading a book on prayer, “Prayer The Voice Of Faith”, written by a preacher (Charles B. Hodge, Jr.).  He enclosed a prayer by an Unknown Confederate Soldier. This prayer was found on the body of this soldier after he was killed near the end of the Civil War (in the battle of Devil’s Den near Gettysburg).  Through trials and tribulations most of us turn to God in  prayer for help and comfort.

img_6190

I ask God for strength, that I might achieve,

I was made weak, that I might learn humbly to obey . . .

I asked for health, that I might do greater things,

I was given infirmity, that I might do better things . . .

I asked for riches, that I might be happy,

I was given poverty that I might be wise . . .

I ask for power, that I might have the praise of men,

I was given weakness, that I might feel the need of God . . .

I asked for all things, that I might enjoy life,

I was given life, that I might enjoy all things . . .

I got nothing that I had asked for, but everything I had hoped for.

Almost despite myself, my unspoken prayers were answered.

I am, among all men, most richly blessed.

11 thoughts on “A Soldier’s Prayer

    1. I was surprised how well this photo showed the rays of sun – shining through the clouds. It truly made me think God was showing me that he was watching over this world. This prayer made me think of all the young men who die in war.

      Liked by 2 people

  1. Such a beautiful prayer you have shared here Peggy.. And your amazing photo, showing the rays falling upon us through the dark clouds that surround us.. Life is always darkest before the dawn light.. xx
    Love and Hugs Peggy.. xxx Thank you

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

