Thunder & Lightning

The storms that roared through our area at 4:00 a.m. were the perfect time for me to capture lightning bolts.  Not an easy task and one I have tried to accomplish for years.  These may not be the best lightning bolts you have seen – but to me, they are fantastic.  I stood at the window for over an hour (no, I was not venturing outside). Most of the time with lightning bolts you are too slow to capture much.  It was pitch dark, but often the yard was bathed in light; as if it was a bright sunny day.  My first captures of lightning – I patted myself on the back.  I call these free hand, the hard way to capture lightning.

img_6510

img_6458

img_6685

img_3952-2

img_3957-2

 

26 thoughts on “Thunder & Lightning

  1. Light Ministry Blog

    Peggy…these are fantastic! Very good for a first timer! I may use one for a poem later on today, if I may. Such might and power in a display of lightening…I wish we had some storms out here in California!

    Steve 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Light Ministry Blog

        No you are right…no tornadoes! That would be very frightening to me and my wife!

        Thanks for the permission to use your great pictures for my poems…

        Have a super day, and be safe.

        Steve 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  2. They’re amazing!!! I can’t wait for a good thunder storm, I just love them! I’ve never been able to capture lightning either but I told myself next time I would try by taking a video instead and then taking screen shots when lighting shows up. Don’t know how well it’ll work!

    Liked by 2 people

      1. I’ve been lucky enough not to have experienced any tornadoes yet…ever. Last year I got really scared however. We got a storm so bad…we could see on the NEAR horizon where the ceiling/cloud floor ended and the trees stayed, there was a small space of ‘clear sky’ in between. And all along that band of white we could see funnel clouds attempting to form. They would twist up and down until they met in the middle and then would dissipate after a few seconds. Needless to say my boots were on and ready for the cellar!!!

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Yes, some of these cellars are spooky. Everyone yelled go to the cellar at my sister’s house one day. Only me and their huge German Shepherd dog were in there for the first 15 minutes. Everyone else was closing doors, windows, etc. before they got in the cellar. Ha

        Liked by 1 person

  3. These are impressive! Years ago my son took video of a spectacular lightning storm in our area. It is so fun to watch because we get to hear his commentary as the camera was taping. I have tried to “capture” lightening and never been too successful…..way to go!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

