Be Ever Ready

We drift through life.  We let the world distract us from serving the Lord.  We watch others pass from this earth, but we ignore our own mortality.  God tells us to be ever ready for we know not when the hour shall come.  The parable below is an excellent example of this scenario.

Luke 12:16-21  “And he spake a parable unto them, saying, The ground of a certain rich man brought forth plentifully: And he thought within himself, saying, What shall I do, because I have no room where to bestow my fruits?  And he said, This will I do: I will pull down my barns, and build greater; and there will I bestow all my fruits and my goods.  And I will say to my soul, Soul, thou hast much goods laid up for many years; take thine ease, eat, drink, and be merry.  But God said unto him, Thou fool, this night thy soul shall be required of thee: then whose shall those things be, which thou hast provided? So is he that layeth up treasures for himself, and is not rich toward God.”

img_6179

Proverbs 3:9-10 “Honor the Lord with thy substance, and with the first-fruits of all thine increase: So shall thy barns be filled with plenty, and thy presses shall burst out with new wine.”

img_4578

Luke 12:24 “Consider the ravens: for they neither sow nor reap; which neither have storehouse nor barn; and God feedeth them: how much more are ye better than the fowls?”

img_4614

God tells us to lay up our treasures in heaven, not on this earth.

img_6007

We have lost several good people from our congregation lately.  Another wondeful Christian man passed away this morning.  We will all miss him greatly.  But, we all feel this gentleman has gone to be with Jesus.

img_6083

Serve the Lord with all your heart, mind, and soul and be added to The Book of Life.

19 thoughts on “Be Ever Ready

  1. This is so true! Heaven is a “prepared place for a prepared people.” We must always be mindful that we have no promise of tomorrows. But if we live toward God as we should, we have no worries. We are ready for our death or Jesus’ return, whenever it takes place! Good reminder…

    Steve

    Liked by 1 person

  2. This is a really encouraging post not to mention such beautiful photos. I love reading the parables. Such strong messages for us. Our tomorrows are numbered and I appreciate each and every one I’m given. Thanks for sharing!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Oh I so loved the quotes you chose Peggy and those Barn photo’s are just beautiful.. 🙂 I wish more of us would consider the deeper meaning to these quotes and respect Nature and her natural laws..
    Love and Blessings to you Peggy.. ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Well, Peggy, I think I’ve “cleaned you out!” Can’t find a post I haven’t read. That’s okay, I know how you feel about posting too much. I’ll just keep checking back. Thanks for your support at my blog…Have a super day,

    Steve

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

