Simple Country Life

There are so many benefits to living in the country.  You are surrounded by the sights and sounds of nature.  The peace and quiet of chirping birds, deer in the meadows, the beautiful vistas of the sky.

Sometimes you find yourself in the middle of nowhere; and sometimes in the middle of nowhere, you find yourself.  Author Unknown

img_2817

I can’t get enough of dirt roads and simple things.  Author Unknown

img_2798

It is the simple things of life that make living worthwhile, the sweet fundamental things such as love and duty, work and rest, living close to nature.  Laura Ingalls Wilder

img_2778

Every man’s life ends the same way. It is only the details of how he lived and how he died that distinguish one man from another.  Ernest Hemingway

img_2797

I wonder who once lived in this house.  They must have worked hard, raised their family, laughed and loved.

img_2354

I seldom see a windmill here in the Southeast U.S.  When I lived in the Western part of the U.S. windmills were everywhere.  Windmills make me think of the years gone by, a simpler time in life, my grandparents era.

img_2362

As we ventured down a little country dirt road – we found this little goat  enjoying the hay with two horses.  The horse on the right, with it’s half opened, sleepy eye has a look of total contentment.

img_2773

I always think of John Denver’s song – “Country Roads”, take me home, to the place where I belong . . .

img_2901

14 thoughts on “Simple Country Life

  1. Vicki

    your photos are so peaceful. proof that sometimes quiet dirt roads lead to beautiful things. I like that old house.. there is one by us and you have inspired me to go and photograph it.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

