Bluebirds

“In order to see birds it is necessary to become part of the silence.” Robert Lynd

“The Bluebird carries the sky on his back.”  Henry David Thoreau 1852

IMG_5187

I was always told it took a special birdhouse to attract Bluebirds.  Well this round, metal coffee can attached to a beam near our carport roof attracted them.  My daughter cut half of the plastic lid away and my husband glued a small board to the opening so the birds could have a better place to perch.  I could stand in the living room and take pictures of the 3 babies through the window. The smallest of the 3 babies (in the last pictures) was hard to convince he should leave the nest, and join his siblings in the trees.

12 thoughts on “Bluebirds

  1. Oh boy! these are so cute.. Wonderful Captures Peggy.. 🙂 We have had a black bird nest in our garden for several years.. and He and his partner have raised 2 broods this year.. We have had a nest box on our garage now for 3 yrs thinking bluetits may move in.. But its obviously not to their taste.. 🙂 and has remained for rent lol 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. WOW! These are amazing shots! This is an awesome post. I have a hummingbird that frequents my flowers but I never have my camera in hand. Maybe one day I’ll get a shot if him. Until then, I will admire your bluebirds from afar. Thanks for sharing. Brought a smile to my face.😃

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

