Deep Dish Cobbler Recipe

IMG_5213

The picture above is one of my children picking blueberries.  My knees would not let me squat down like this to pick anything.  Ha

On my post of June 4, Berry Picking Time,  I featured a picture of my deep dish cobbler in my corning ware dish.  This recipe was passed down to me by my aunt Lucy.

EASY  COBBLER

  • 1 1/2 cup sugar
  • 1 1/2 cup self-rising flour
  • 1 1/2 cup water
  • 6 cups of berries
  • 1 stick of margarine or butter

In a separate bowl mix the sugar and flour well, then add the water to these 2 dry ingredients and mix well. Melt your stick of margarine/or butter in your casserole baking dish.  Pour the sugar/flour mixture on top of the melted margarine in your casserole dish, but do not stir.  Spoon your berries over the top of the dough, but do not stir or disturb them.  The crust will rise from the bottom and the berries will sink as the mixture cooks. Bake at 350 degrees for 60 to 70 minutes until the risen crust turns golden brown.

If you use this recipe and find it is not as juicy as you wish, just spoon a cup of juice on top of the dough when you spoon your berries on top.  Enjoy.

5 thoughts on “Deep Dish Cobbler Recipe

Leave a Reply

